A love letter: From Po to Ka

I want to know how many scars you have

and memorize the shape of your tongue.

I want to climb the curve of your lower back

and count your vertebrae

your ribs

your fingers

your goose bumps.

I want to chart the topography of your anatomy

And be fluent in your body language.

I want you, entire.

 

“I want you, entire.” This reminds me of Kierkegaard’s concept of love: ‎”To love another in spite of his weaknesses and errors and imperfections is not perfect love. No, to love is to find him lovable in spite of and together with his weakness and errors and imperfections.”

Disclaimer: Despite my strong urge to claim the authorship of this poem (hahaha), this isn’t mine. I just saw it posted on my friend’s facebook wall.  =)

Leave a Reply

